Atlantic City, New Jersey
Join a local Host Club: Want to connect with Hosts in your area to get tips and advice? It’s easy—join your community’s official Host Group on Facebook!
When deciding whether to become an Airbnb host, it is important for you to understand the laws in your city. As a platform and marketplace we do not provide legal advice, but we want to give you some useful links that may help you better understand laws and regulations in Atlantic City. If you have questions, contact the Code Enforcement Division by email or by phone at (609) 347-6450, or consult a local lawyer.
As of January 22, 2021, all dwelling units, rooms or other spaces that are occupied on a seasonal and/or transient rental basis must apply for a permit for registration and inspection annually.
Permit applications include a $150 application fee. Properties must be up to date on taxes, water and sewer charges, as well as be free of any property maintenance violations in order to register. Listings in condominiums must also receive approval from the condo association.
Permit applicants will also be required to provide:
- An exact address of the short-term rental, including block, lot and unit number;
- Owner of record information, including name, address, telephone number and email address;
- If the owner of record is a corporation, LLC or partnership, information on all principals, including name and address;
- Information for the property manager or the agent managing the short-term rental, including name, address, telephone number and email address;
- Proof of general liability insurance specific to short-term rental activity;
- Land Use Certification;
- Pest Certification; and
- Fire Certification.
To apply for a permit, please visit Atlantic City’s website.
Once your application has been submitted and reviewed for completion, an inspection will be scheduled.
Occupancy limits will be determined by the city upon inspection, however no listing will exceed 16 guests. At the completion of the inspection, the property owner and/or agent will be notified via email of the permitted occupancy and corresponding fee:
- 1-6 occupants - $1,000
- 7-11 occupants - $1,500
- 12-16 occupants - $1,800
Other regulations included in the new law are;
- Property owners or agents must be reachable 24/7 and able to respond to complaints within an hour.
- Solid waste and recycling regulations must be followed.
- Violations of these rules may each result in court fines of up to $2,000.
For complete and detailed information, please refer to Atlantic City’s website.
Adding registration details to your listing(s)
You can add registration details, like a registration or permit number, to your listing. To add this number to your listing, go to Listings, select the listing you want, and add the number under Regulations.
Other contracts and rules
As a host, you need to understand and abide by other contracts or rules that bind you, including leases, co-op rules, HOA rules, or other rules established by tenant organizations. You should be able to find out more by contacting your housing authority (such as a community council) or landlord. Your lease (or other contract) might also have specific details.
Our commitment to your community
We are committed to working with local officials to clarify how local rules impact the short-term rental community.
Aiheeseen liittyviä artikkeleita
- Ocean City, MarylandKun teet päätöksen ryhtyä Airbnb-majoittajaksi, on tärkeää, että ymmärrät, miten lainsäädäntö toimii kaupungissasi. Alustana ja kauppapaikka…
- ElämysjärjestäjäRetkien opastaminen SevillassaLainsäädäntö, määräykset, luvat − tässä on hyödyllisiä tietoja, joiden avulla pääset alkuun ja opit, mitä saatat tarvita järjestääksesi Airb…
- VierasMatkustusrajoitukset ja -tiedotteet Lähi-idässäKatso viranomaisten antamien määräysten ja asetusten päivitykset alueittain.